Menu
 

Pausing an Active Campaign

There are a couple of ways you can pause a campaign depending on your overall goal.

Short term adjustments

If you need to make changes to a campaign quickly over a short period of time, it’s best to keep things simple and set all messages to queue as drafts rather than sending automatically.

This prevents you from sending a message while you’re still working on perfecting it. However you can quickly restore to business as usual when you’re ready by flipping the messages back on.

Set all your messages to Queue Draft

  1. Navigate to your campaign workflow.
  2. Click to open the settings for the first message.
  3. Set the sending behavior of the message to “Queue Draft”.
  4. Rinse and repeat for any other messages in the campaign. (Yes, you have to set this per message.)

Now you can make your changes in peace, knowing that you’re not sending anything out before it’s ready. Once you’re satisfied with the changes, reverse the steps above and resume sending automatically.

Long term or indefinite pausing

If you’re looking to pause a campaign for an extended period of time or stop it indefinitely, there’s a better solution than simply switching it over to queue drafts. In this case, it’s better to prevent new users from entering the campaign while allowing the users already in the campaign to gracefully finish receiving their remaining messages.

Option A: No future matches enter the paused campaign

This option is for when you don’t want to preserve any future matches. That means future matches will never enter into this paused campaign’s workflow.

Filter new users to not enter the campaign

  1. Create a new segment.

  2. For the segment condition, set a rule for “Email [Email 1] has been sent” (where [Email 1] represents the first email in the campaign you want to pause).

  3. Apply this new segment as a filter on the campaign you want to pause.

Now any new users that match your trigger will be checked against the filter and since they’ve never received the first email in the campaign they simply won’t join the campaign. Existing users in the campaign will keep on receiving the future messages until they reach the end.

Note: If the first action in your campaign isn’t an email, make sure your filter segment correctly reflects this by filtering users that have received the Twilio/Slack/Webhook, etc. action that is the start of your campaign.

Option B: Save future matches in the paused campaign

This option is for preserving the users who match after you pause the campaign to retarget at a later date. This means any future matches for the campaign will sit in a delay for the paused campaign until you remove the delay.

Add a long delay at the start of your workflow

  1. Navigate to your campaign workflow

  2. Click to add a new Delay to the start of your workflow

  3. Set the delay to be significantly longer than the time it takes a customer to complete your campaign.

With this delay in place, all newly matched users that enter the campaign get stuck in a delay and the users that were already farther along the workflow will continue to receive messages as usual. Once everyone has exited the campaign aside from the users in the delay, you’re ready to stop sending messages.

If you set this delay to a sufficiently large value (let’s say 10,000 days), then these users and all future matches will sit at the start of your campaign until you remove this delay. When you remove the delay, they will all advance into the campaign. This lets you retarget these users in the future should you decide to.

Set all your messages to Don’t Send

Once you complete either Option A or B above, it’s a good idea to set the campaign messages to “Don’t Send” so that in case someone slips back, they don’t receive any messages.

  1. Go back to the campaign workflow.
  2. Click to open the settings for the first message.
  3. Set the sending behavior of the message to “Don’t Send”.
  4. Do the same for any other messages in the workflow.

With the messages set not to send, you’ve effectively paused your campaign indefinitely. This way, you still have all the historical campaign metrics available, but you aren’t sending to any users that meet the trigger conditions.

If you decide to start the campaign again in the future, you just need to re-enable sending on the messages and either remove the filter segment or the delay to advance everyone back into the campaign.